RSS Feed

Braided Extension Cords

Posted on

I just saw this on Design Sponge and I had to post about it.  Why?  Because it’s something near and dear to my heart – the hiding of extension cords.  I hate them with a passion.

Again, “why?” you ask.  Because living with someone who has a lot of AV “equipment” means a lot of cords.  Everywhere.  And the most frustrating times are when a cord has to run from here (being one side of the room) to there (being the MIDDLE of the room) which means a cord might have to show.  GASP!  (If you could picture the word “gasp” as a facial expression, it would look something like extremely wide eyes filled with equal parts of irritation, slight desperation and dread.  At least that’s what mine looks like when Ryan has to break cord-related issues to me.).  If you want surround sound and you live in an apartment, you apparently need cords on all walls, ceilings and floors.  Okay, I’m exaggerating.  But you do need cords running along baseboards and/or under carpets.  Sometimes up walls (but that was for my hanging light, you guys, so…).  Sorry, but I’m not wild about those options.  You can still see/feel them.   Yes, feel them.  In fact, you can see AND feel the one that runs under the carpet from our bedroom into the living room (thanks, cable guy) as there’s a huge bump in the carpet.

So, maybe I should just give up and make it a design element:

The cords are inside vacuum cleaner tubes that you wrap with yarn and then braid together.  Cool, right?!  Downsides – tripping (I can see myself somehow become entangled and killing myself) and Ted, aka Sir Chewsalot.  That cat will chew and bite on just about anything.  But, if you’re interested, here’s the tutorial.

Oh, and here’s Ted straight off a Chewscapade.  He’s worth all the chewing.  My little ginger…

Leave a Reply

