RSS Feed

Tutorial Tuesday – Terrariums!

Posted on

I think I’ve told you before that I have the opposite of a green thumb.  I apparently suck the life out of plants.  I’m the black hole of the gardening world.  It makes me sad as I really like plants!  I’ve got a little pot of succulents sitting in the sunniest part of my kitchen.  I’ll admit it…this is my second (okay, third) set of the plants, though.  Everyone is all “Succulents are so easy to take care of.  They don’t need much water.  Just lots of sunlight.”  You’d think it would be perfect as I always forget to water “normal” plants.  But get this – I think I over water these.  Or maybe they just bite down on the tiny plant cyanide pill they have  hiding in their little leafy pocket to stop their inevitable and possibly painful death.  Whatever it is, they ALWAYS die.  But not this little group of succulents I currently have.  (I’m trying to stay positive.)

BUT.  My plant-growing failure has brought me to a realization.  I think a terrarium might be a good fit for me.  So much so that a year ago (at least) I bought a super cool little glass thingy to make one.  There it sits on my shelf.  Taunting me.  I think I should read my hesitation as a fear of probable failure, but what’s a few more dead plants.  It might turn out to be the coolest thing in the world, right?  Like People Magazine might come out with an article on “25 Hottest Terrariums” and I’d be on that list.  And I could quit my job to tend to its hotness.  I mean, stranger things have happened. 

I also figure that I can’t really be alone in both my stellar plant-killing abilities and my sad and strange desire for my own plants (living, preferably), so I thought I’d share some tutorials.  Oh, and I’d like to point out that my favorite part of terrariums are the silly little plastic figurines people put in there.  I think I’d like a tiny little unicorn.

Anyway, have at it:

Yeah, it’s a freaking lightbulb terrarium!!!!!!!  How cool is that?  Note the tiny alligator/crocodile.  Now imagine it with a UNICORN!  HA!  HILARIOUS, RIGHT?!

This one has a lot of pictures along the way which is always good for me.  Reading isn’t nearly as helpful as I have a VERY bad habit of reading every other word.  Also, the dog and person sitting on the ground (kinda hard to see in this picture) are awesome.  Awesome!

This one talks about something I think is totally cool – terrarium centerpieces.  Super duper cool.  And let me give you a blown up picture to show you why I love this one so much.

AAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAA!!!!  A roaring hippo!!!!!  I LOVE IT!!!!!

So, this has all re-inspired me.  OH, and in case you’re wondering, there are a couple of Etsy sellers that sell full-on kits.  Here’s one.  Here’s another.

If you attempt and succeed (or don’t – I won’t judge), please e-mail me pictures!  Especially if you track down a roaring hippo!  I’ll post pictures when I finish mine as well.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you for these! I think I know what my new project will be come Spring time. I think I roaring hippo (or unicorn) would look great in a terrarium at my kitchen window. **Excitement!!**

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Books « Hip Soiree

Leave a Reply

