RSS Feed

Poof Light – TADA!

Posted on

I don’t think I’ve ever committed to a project and finished it as quickly as I did this.  So…TADA!

I’d like to point out that this picture was taken in my apartment WITH THE LIGHTS ON!!!!  That’s how dark it is in there!!!!!!  Ryan takes the term “man cave” to a new extreme.  It doesn’t help that he also installed those blasted energy-saving light bulbs that, I don’t care what he says, seem to give off less light.  OK.  Rant finished.

This was relatively easy to make.  I used an 8″ paper lantern and it’s now about 12″ in diameter, so it fluffed up pretty well.  I was surprised at how many coffee filters it took – 200.  No, that is not a typo.  But coffee filters are cheap, right?  And I would have finished it in one evening, but I ran out of coffee filters.  Of course.

Here’s a close up. 

It’s pretty, right?!  It doesn’t look as perfect as the one in the tutorial, I know.  If I had another paper lantern hanging around, I might give it another go to make it perfect.  I got a little better at glueing by the end which means the top and bottom aren’t EXACTLY the same.  But I really like it.  I hung it in the bathroom with the string ball thingy.  Well, Ryan did.  From all the shouting, I think it might have been a pain since he was working with fishing line and his “fat fingers” (his words) kept getting in the way.  But he liked it so much that he was trying to figure out a place to put a larger one.  I’m telling you.  It looks that good.

2 responses »

  1. This looks fantastic! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

