RSS Feed

Tutorial Tuesday – Wall Clock!

Posted on

Remember how I just re-did my bathroom?  No?  Well, let me refresh your memory.  You’re welcome.  If you look in the background of those pictures, you’ll see the boring old white wall clock.  First off, do any of you have clocks in your bathroom?  When I initially got it I thought it might be strange, but we needed it.  Why, you ask?  Because Ryan takes so long in the bathroom and then loses track of time.  I’m as serious as a heart attack, you guys.  Anyway, as some of you know, I kinda like Ikea.  SIKE!  I freaking love Ikea!  So, in one of my Ikea frenzies, I stumbled upon this clock which costs a non-whopping $10.  I kinda liked its simplistic whiteness initially, even though a white plastic clock would usually scream “BEDAZZLE ME!”  

Fast forward to said bathroom fancification.  For some reason, I became obsessed with that clock’s boringness.  Actually, I probably wouldn’t have ever thought a thing about it if I hadn’t found this.  Well, I ran across this collaboration project first.  I was obsessed.  But, of course, my brain went into overload over this little issue – what should I actually do?  Paint?  Paper?  Fabric?  Yarn?  GAH!  I finally decided on fabric because I have so many scraps gathering dust.  So, without further ado…ta da!

Here’s a shot a little further back in the bathroom.  Keep in mind that the bathroom is so small that you practically need to be a contortionist to get a good photo of the corner. 

I’ll be honest, though.  I initially chose a different fabric.  Poor Ryan has been having to deal with phrases like “a pop of color” A LOT lately.  So, we negotiated and picked a pink/orange fabric.  Guys, it was hideous.  Not hideous.  Just so girly and over the top.  It popped too hard maybe?  Like it burst?  I don’t know…  Anyway, after e-mailing the writer over at Mod Podge Rocks (an awesome blog to take a look at if you have time), she assured me that it wouldn’t be a problem to remove the fabric.  I don’t know why I stressed so much about ruining the clock.  I just didn’t want to make an Ikea run during the week and waiting until the weekend sounded like too much for my impatient self to handle.  It seriously took a few tugs and it was off.  Oh, and I forgot to say that to adhere the fabric, it couldn’t have taken more than 15 minutes.  It’s that easy, folks.

So, if you like pops of color and clocks, give it a go.  It was a piece of cake.  Well, if I hadn’t popped the color so hard in the first place.  Oh Lizzie…

One response »

  1. And now your clock matches the inside of the medicine cabinet! Even if no one else realizes that, you still know it, and it makes you feel just a teensy-weensy bit special. Kind of like when your bra and undies match. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

