RSS Feed

Party Friday – Photo Booth!

Posted on

Happy Friday!  Welcome to the party post!  This week, I’m going to talk about something near and dear to my heart – photo booths.  I don’ t know why I say that they’re near and dear to me, but just suffice it to say that I love them.  I wish I owned one.  Or at least had full access to one at any time.  How fun!

I wanted to have one at one of my parties, so I checked out the price to rent one.  Ummmm…let’s just say it’s a lot.  I was super bummed.  I mean, everyone loves photo booths!  So, I set out on a DIY hunt.  Obviously, you can’t DIY an entire photo booth, but I wanted to figure out a way to get the same effect.

The first idea – a regular camera on a tripod with some crazy sheet/fabric backdrop:

Kinda.  It’s super cute, but my party wasn’t going to be outside and it was going to be on the darker side.  PLUS, I wanted the traditional feel – the kind where you sit down and there’s a black or velvet curtain.  Plus, I didn’t have a tripod or a photographer.  Nix that.

Then, I stupidly realized that my computer has a program called…Photo Booth.  Oh Lizzie…  I found another program which would allow you to take 3 successive pictures that would then be printed on a strip of paper just like a REAL photo booth would.   Yeah, it didn’t work.   Eh, I didn’t want to carry my printer around anyway.  I just uploaded the pictures to Snapfish, sent out an e-mail inviting people to look at the album and then they could print which ever ones they liked.  Pretty ingenious, if I do say so myself.

SO.  I settled on this idea – I got a couple of yards of red velvet fabric and a few 2×4’s, made a little frame and draped the velvet over it as a backdrop.  That’s basically it.  Now I just needed a table (or something that level) to set my computer, a couple of chairs and, of course, lots of props.  I brought hats, feathers, wigs and mustaches (thanks Martha Stewart website).  At both of the parties, it was a HUGE hit.  What can I say.  People like to ham it up.  Well, my friends and family anyway.  Side note – as you can see, it was a bit dark in the “booth,” but they still turned out to be pretty cute.

Since then, I’ve found a lot of other cute ideas that will get incorporated next time.  Free printable props:

Chalkboard speech bubbles:

Whiteboard speech bubbles:

Or just spray paint frames or cut a rectangle shape to make a framed photo  Can you say, POLAROID!  GAH!  I love it!

Right?  So much fun!!!  So, give it a go at your next party!  And if you have a Mac, Photo Booth comes as a standard application.  Now you have no excuse.

4 responses »

  1. that first framed one makes me angry i want it so bad. is that the frame the i bought from ikea that i thought was a mirror?? despite my anger, love that idea.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Mad Men Cocktail Party – Part 3 « Hip Soiree

  3. Pingback: Mad Men Cocktail Party, Part 3 | The Hip Soiree Mad Men Cocktail Party, Part 3 | Not just your average party

Leave a Reply

