RSS Feed

Mad Men Cocktail Party, Part 1

Posted on

OK. I just started watching Mad Men.  I know, welcome to 2006.  It’s especially strange that I never started earlier as I love that time period – the clothes, the architecture, the decor, THE CLOTHES!!  I think it was because I missed the boat for the first season and I didn’t want to jump in without starting at the beginning.  Fast forward a million years and it was added to the Netflix streaming pool.  Commence watching…NOW!  It’s funny because I thought I’d love many people on the show, but almost everyone is a jerk in a way.  The men are total pigs and the women all take their crap.  Gack.  But they all look so wonderful in the meantime.

Why am I blathering away about Mad Men?  Well, it has to do with the fact that I’ve been ITCHING to throw a cocktail party.  And I’d love it to be Mad Men-esque.  I wouldn’t make everyone dress up (unless I would), but I’d just like the overall vibe to be 60’s lounge.  So, while it’s not in the “official” planning stages, here are my ideas.   

Invites.  You know how I feel about invites.  They have to set the general mood.  I love Evite, but there’s something about getting a real invitation in the mail.  It gives it a bit of class.  And it’s one more thing that I can DIY.  There, I said it.  So, what would a standard 50’s/60’s invite would look like?  In other words, WWBDD (what would Betty Draper do)?  Probably something like this:

I know, slightly boring.  But it’s totally what Betty Draper would do.  Admit it.  I mean, it’s not like she could pull out her laptop, open Photoshop or Illustrator and get to business.  She wouldn’t want to be flashy anyway.  It would seem common.  The furthest she’d go is a graphic like the one above or some sort of watermark.  That’s just how she rolls.

OR, if you don’t want to be a die-hard, you could do the cutesy vintage/retro vibe:

OR you could give in and make it apparent that you’re looking for a Mad Men feel.

OR you could be me and sit and mull over all of this until your head explodes.  Just looking at the silhouette of Don Draper makes me want an Old Fashioned.  Which means…next post – cocktails and food.  Or cocktails and cocktails if you lived on the set of Mad Men.  Oh, and about 3 packs of cigarettes a day.  Yikes…

2 responses »

  1. Hi!! Love your Mad Men party ideas so creative! I am hosting my own Mad Men themed party and love the your invite example the second photo from the bottom that reads “Its a Mad Men Party. Step Back into the 1960’s with Jan and Kelly”. Do you have or know where I can find a electronic template of that to use in an evite? Thanks so much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

