RSS Feed

Tutorial Tuesdays!

Posted on

I’ve made a decision.  Instead of only giving you updates on my current projects, I’m going to start giving you some ideas to carry out yourselves.  Well, if you feel so inclined.  I’m going to do a weekly posting called “Tutorial Tuesdays!”  I know…not that original.  But hopefully one of these will inspire you to pick up a DIY project and go for it.  And, I’ll be honest, it’s also a way for me to keep track of all the tutorials I want to try.  I know, I’m selfish…

So!  May I present the inaugural Tutorial Tuesdays! (I feel like I should put TM after that).

[Sugar Scrub TutorialPetit Elefant]

I’m a huge fan of sugar scrubs.  They smell so glorious and your skin feels AMAZING after using them.  I once gave one to Ryan before we were married and he fell in love with it.  Well, as much as a guy could fall in love with something you’d find in a shower.  Later, he told me that he was using it to scrub his face which I told him to STOP DOING, but…his face is still intact.  I’m always a little nervous about the ones that smell like baked goods because I’m afraid that he might try to eat it.  I always have to keep a close eye.

[Hemp Lamp Pendant Tutorial – Crafty Nest]

Good grief, I love these things.  They would look so cool on a porch or hanging in a cluster over a chair in a corner.  I’ve seen a lot of tutorials for these, but this is my favorite.  I think it’s because they use a rubber ball instead of balloons which makes the finished product perfectly round.  But that’s just me.

Of course, I’d make something a little more like this:

GGGGGAAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!  It’s so adorable that I could scream!!!

[Laptop Bag Tutorial – Sew, Mama, Sew!]

I’ve been on the lookout for a new laptop bag forever.  Years ago, I had a really cool one made out of a thrift store men’s suit coat), but it just got old and tired.  Unbelievably, I just found a link to the picture here.  I could probably revamp it somehow, but…THIS IS SO CUTE!!!!  Hang tight, Matilda (my laptop’s name).  This will be  your ride soon, my sweet.

[Inkodye Fabric Tutorial – How About Orange]

This just looks like a little zippered pouch made with cute orange fabric, right?  WRONG!!!  Well, it is, but there’s more to it.  Jessica Jones of How About Orange actually made this fabric using Inkodye, plain, old safety pins and the sun.  Yeah, the sun.  It’s crazy!

I could go on FOREVER, but I’ll get you started on these.  So…hop to it!

Leave a Reply

