RSS Feed

Red Hair

Posted on

Good grief, guys.  My hair is in dire wolf need of a trimming.  It’s a Ned Stark reality.  I kill myself.  Anyway, my lovely sister-in-law, Capri, is a hair stylist and always cuts my hair for me.  The only downside…she lives 2 hours away.  Blerg.  Luckily, my hair is curly and long which means there’s not much upkeep involved.  But it’s at Crystal Gayle length right now, so something’s gotta give.

BUT…Capri has said that she will not only cut my hair next time, but she will dye it.  GAH!  See, I have to dye my hair, like, constantly.  I’ve been graying since my 20’s.  Damn you, genetics!  Damn you to hell!  On the up-side of dying my hair, I realized that I actually like my hair on the redder side as opposed to my normal dark brown.  Maybe my personality lends itself more to that, I don’t know.  On top of that, my pale skin, blue eyes and “red” hair is what drove my husband to me.  He loves all things Irish, so I guess he just assumed I was when he met me.  Nope.  Not a drop.  But just in case, I think I better keep the red around.

My current hair color is from a box, so now that it’s going to be done in a salon…WHAT COLOR SHOULD I TRY NOW???  Like I said, I want to stay red.  Ryan wants me to be carrot top red.  I’m serious, I think he does.  When I switched to a lighter red a little while ago, he said something like “you and your browny reds…”  Well, I’m not 20 and I work in a corporate law office.  It’s probably not a good idea to push it too much.  Plus, I really don’t want to look like Ronald McDonald.  Call me crazy.

In looking around, I’ve found a few ideas.  First off, I’m going to keep it on the long side.  I think Ryan would be very sad if I cut it off.  What is it with boys and long hair?  It’s weird!  I once had a hair stylist who wisely said “if men like long hair so much, why don’t they just grow their hair long!”  Well said!  Second, I’m not going to fight the curl.  I don’t know if it’s just wanting what you don’t have or what, but I always gravitate towards straighter hairstyles.  Then my friends will always ask “are you going to straighten it everyday??”  Whoops.  I didn’t think about that.  So, still long(ish), curly and red.

Here is my “now” hair color.  Well, these are pictures from my wedding (obviously), but they are the best color shots I have.  It’s a little lighter now, but as you can see, it’s more red than orangy red.

Must husband is such a goofball.

Here are a few ideas I’m toying with.  If you can’t tell, I love Christina Hendricks.  She’s so pretty! But I’m not sure if it’ll look good on me.  Anyone want to chime in?

I’m leaning towards the first one.  I don’t know why I’m stressing as it’s color that I can change, but…

2 responses »

  1. I’m thinking Christina’s color. It’s just different enough from your current. Bryce’s would be my second but that looks pretty darn similar to your current. Flo’s i’m not feeling.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

