RSS Feed

Nuggies and Pino Harnesses

Posted on

Meet Nuggies and Pino.  Say it with me, “AAAAAAAWWWWWWW!”  They are my “nieces” and they are the cutest dogs EVAH!

One day, my sister-in-law came over and showed me Nuggies’ harness.  It was pretty much trashed.  Understandably so, since the little dog is only a couple of inches from the ground.  Getting dirty would be pretty easy.  She definitely needed a new one.

I honestly can’t remember if she asked me to make a new one or if I just straight-up offered, but however it happened, I excitedly started working.  As you all know, I’m a beginning sewer.  Does “sewer” mean someone who sews?  I know that it’s the place where poop goes, so I’m not sure if there are two meanings.  Regardless, I’m new at sewing.  Maybe I should just say that.  When I approached this project I realized that the easiest way to make one would be to just trace the existing harness and leave an inch or so for seam allowance.  We looked through some scrap fabric I had stored in one of my bins and picked out a couple.  Then we went to the fabric store to get some velcro, ribbon and the ring thingy that the leash is attached to.

I struggled a little bit with the first one.  I wanted to use bias tape, but the ding dang thing was WAY to small and it would have ended up being all bias tape with just about no material showing.  After futzing around, it all worked out fine and I ended up making Nuggies two harnesses – one for when my sister-in-law walks her (much more girly) and one for when my brother-in-law walks her (much less girly).  I’ll admit that we decided to snaz up the non-girly one with some sparkly ribbon without my brother-in-law knowing.  But it’s still “street.”

A couple of days later, Nuggies got a little sister, Pino.  I couldn’t let her be without a couture harness!  So, I whipped up a slightly smaller one for her.  I’ll admit that they are pretty stinking adorable.  I’m very proud of myself that I figured it out all by my lonesome.  I’m hoping to do a tutorial so you all can try it yourself.

Here are a couple more pictures of the little sweetsies.  So CUTE!!!!

 

3 responses »

  1. HA! How did yall get them to pose in those last two pictures? Adorable!

    Reply
  2. Umm Those are adorable. And so are the harnesses!! Coby wants one. Hint hint. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

