RSS Feed

Marquee Letter

Posted on

Neon signs are the coolest, aren’t they?  I’m talking about those old vintage ones that say things like “Lucky’s Cocktails” or “Desert Palms Motel” with a picture of a lady diving into a pool.  Love, love, love!  So, when I stumbled across this little number, I about screamed in excitement. 

Guys!  I can make my own “neon” sign!!!!  I showed all the directions to my resident “Difficult DIY Project Manager” (aka my husband, Ryan) and he said…it looks a little hard.  He said he’d give it a go, though.  THEN, I found this tutorial which appears to be much easier.  Easier meaning no vinyl roof flashing and electric jigsaw. 

It’s foamboard!  Granted, I still want the first one, but I will give this one a go.  I don’t even think I need to bring the Project Manager into the loop since I think I can handle it myself.  And I know I’m probably taking a turn to crazy town, but I’m going to try to do words instead of letters.  We’ll see…

As always, I’ll keep you posted!!

UPDATE – OK…I’ll admit that I caved and bought one.  I know, I know.  But I found someone on Etsy who makes vintage reproductions and I had to go for it.  I still want to do the foamboard project, but it’s a little low on my list at this point.  Sorry about that.  But check out the seller on Etsy.  I know that he’s a little backed up at the moment, but hopefully he’ll open up for orders again soon.

2 responses »

  1. I MUST HAVE ONE!!! OMG A flashing G sign in my window. With like “OPEN OPEN OPEN” flashing beneath it! Too much? Ok, I’ll settle for a neon G. Seriously. I might have to try this. Let me know how easy it was. And I mean, is it easy enough for a 5 year old with feet for hands to do it?

    Reply
    • Well….I’m going to post about this sometime this weekend because…I ended up buying one from a guy on Etsy . LOL. Just wait – you’re going to crap your pants. I’m still going to try the one made out of foam board, but not the *real* kind.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

