RSS Feed

Wedding Accessories – Part 2

Posted on

OK.  You saw the jewelry in Part 1.  Now onto the hair accessories.

I wanted something special for my hair.  I really wanted was to wear a fascinator, but I was honestly afraid I wouldn’t be able to pull it off.  Instead, I went for my next favorite thing – feathers.  While I was shopping one day, I found a really pretty turquoise blue feather pin.  I decided I was going to modify it to wear as a hairpin.  The change from pin to hairpin went fine, but when i put the feather in my hair, it kinda stuck out all funny.  It was too flat for my head and just looked weird.  But I really wanted to wear feathers!  I realized after modifying the pin that making one from scratch wouldn’t really be that hard.  All I’d need is some feathers (obviously), felt, glue and a couple of bobby pins.  Oh, and a little gem (or something) to put in the center.

It was a learning experience.  I bought a few different types of feathers from, of course, Jo-Ann Fabric.  I wanted something with a white base, but not something long and floppy like an ostrich feather.  I settled on white marabou and natural guinea feathers.  Let me tell you, it was raining feathers in my apartment.  They were EVERYWHERE!  My cat was in heaven.  I wish I had found this tutorial before I attempted it since it gives you step-by-step instructions on how to make one yourself.  It was a big hit.

Because some of you (okay, one of you) asked, here’s a picture of my Etsy wedding dress.  I chose blue because this was my second wedding and I didn’t want to pretend to be virginal.  HA!  Classy.  No, really I just wanted something a little different and more casual.  The Etsy seller who made it is Jane Bonbon and I seriously cannot say how much I like her.

Ryan is a total ham.

Leave a Reply

