RSS Feed

Embroidered Tablecloths

Posted on

Again, I’m always searching for something a little different to add to a party.  Before I discovered my love of origami flower centerpieces, I decided to do something a little different for a “centerpiece.”  I decided to make the actual tablecloth a bit of a showcase.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, centerpieces are not cheap.  Neither are tablecloths.  What I did was buy my trusty Ikea sheets, cut them down to size and hem them using iron-on tape.  The next step was figuring out what to embroider.  I decided to do definitions.  I actually used definitions as a bit of theme for the entire party.  I also added a twist of humor to them.  These are two of the six tablecloths I ended up making.

The variations I had were:

Lallapalooza [lah-luh-puh-loo-zuh] – an extraordinary thing, person or event. Unlike “the” Lallapalooza, mine won’t be attended by any stinky 90’s hippies.

Gala [gal-uh] – festive; festal; showy. Even though Paula was a little white trash, her parties were always gala occasions.

Bash [bāsh] – a wild party; a night on the town. The wheels fell off last night at Mary’s bash. I heard Ron ended the night with a Cher tattoo.

Party [pahr-tee] – a social gathering for conversation, refreshments, entertainment, etc. Cathy thought that throwing a party would make people like her. She was mistaken.

Fête [fet] – an elaborate party. Martha’s having her annual garden fete again this year. Is it wrong to pray for locusts?

Shindig [shin-dig] – a party; a dance. What a fancy shindig! They even have real glass glasses!

They were such a hit that I did a variation of them at the Palm Springs party and the afternoon tea.  The people in attendance at that party weren’t much of a definitions crowd.  They were hip and mod.  I decided to embroider cocktail tablecloths with mod designs.  I did three different designs in all, but here’s one example.

So, jazz up your boring old table with some fabulousness!  I promise that people will LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

